Midnight Musings

After finishing my cinematography reading (all ten pages of it) and touching up and re-exporting an editing project five different times, I have finally found some time to write another post. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know I said that I would post every Thursday. But after having eight straight hours of class almost everyday, I barely have enough energy to stay awake on the bus ride home (let alone string words together to make coherent sentences).

While the past ten days have been filled with hours in the editing prison lab cutting projects multiple projects together in a few hours, train rides, and a skit that accurately depicted film school casting auditions, the thoughts that are running circles around my mind were sparked by the experience that I had today. Or, technically, should I say yesterday?

A group of my friends and I made our way to the town of Brühl to visit the Max Ernst Museum, which is now currently featuring “The World of Tim Burton” exhibit. While waiting in line to buy my entry ticket, I already knew it was going to be cool because, come on, it’s artwork by Tim Burton. But this exhibit blew my mind. (I wish I could have taken pictures, but any sort of photography was not allowed.)

As I was walking through the exhibit, staring in awe at the pure talent that was before my eyes, my friend and fellow Delta, Alex, said something along the lines of: “Film and art are forms of intense self-expression. Can you just imagine what kind of person he really is to be able to come up with stuff like this?”

It’s crazy to think that, wow, it’s so true. Sure, all artists have their influences and other art and artists where they find inspiration. But at the end of the day, the great art, regardless of medium, comes from the artist him/herself. Tim Burton has a distinct style and consistent themes that are easily identified through all of his art. His interpretations of reality and depictions of “The Misunderstood Outcasts” really bring us into his world, his mind and psyche.

And for the past seven hours, my mind has been mulling over the questions: Can my art do the same? Am I capable of becoming so vulnerable to my work? Do I have the capability of creating something that allows other people to view the world from my perspective?

I still haven’t been able to come up with any definite answers, but maybe I will, someday.  

{ Also, here are some pictures I took of items around my bedroom because it’s 2 AM and I can’t go to sleep: }

IMG_1781

IMG_1789 IMG_1796 IMG_1797 IMG_1802

{And here’s a picture of me pointing to a banana decal that was stuck onto the wall outside of the museum. Expect it to be my profile picture of Facebook soon!}

unnamed

Leave a Reply

